TBR: May 2018 #WyrdandWonder

I am just getting back into my reading groove (April was rough), so I figured I should again try and set myself a TBR for the month. I am currently not doing well with general fiction and craving more genre fiction – and have just now decided to participate a bit in #Wyrd and Wonder (which sounds just wonderful). For me this means I will try and read more fantasy than I have recently done and maybe talk more about this genre that used to define my reading taste much more than it does right now. (We will have to wait and see how that actually works out for me)

I have also recently purchased a whole bunch of non-fiction titles that I am very excited to get to.

I am also slowly making my way through my pile of arcs (you can find an incomplete list of my arcs here and here).

TBR ARCs:

 

Florida by Lauren Groff (Publication Date June 5th)

The Changeling by Victor LaValle (Publication Date July 5th)

Suicide Club by Rachel Heng (Publication Date July 10th)

TBR Books for Wyrd and Wonder:

 

 

The Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin

The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty

Monstress Vol. 2: The Blood by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda

Jade City by Fonda Lee

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

Strange The Dreamer by Lainie Taylor

TBR non-fiction books

 

Why I’m No Longer Talking To White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge

The White Book by Han Kang

Not That Bad ed. by Roxane Gay

Which books are you planning on reading this month? Is there one book in particular on my TBR that I should prioritize?

4 thoughts on “TBR: May 2018 #WyrdandWonder

  1. Ooh I’m a big thumbs up on City of Brass and River of Teeth in your TBR – I loved both of these! Jade City may feature in mine if I can get hold of a copy – in the meantime I’m reading The Beautiful Ones (Silvia Moreno-Garcia) and being tempted by The Poppy War, (R F Kuang) but really should read Godblind (Anna Stephens) first!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, how are you liking The Beautiful Ones? I have been a bit on the fence on this one but it does sound super intriguing.
      I really loved The Poppy War, so I do recommend checking that out.
      I am super excited about City Of Brass – I have only heard good things about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I found the first half very frustrating – almost to the point of putting it down – and have gobbled up the second half in an afternoon, trying not to scream at the page (in an engaged way, not a bad way!). I’m an odd fish with romance tropes. I’m not interested not interested not interested DON’T DO THE THING OMG HOW COULD YOU ARGH etc

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment